So were in the middle of the MLB season and the NFL is right around the corner. Can't forget about college football either. And as always I have an opinion, well actually more than one. But where to start? How about Papi?
It seems like everytime we turn around another name is dropped that is alledgedly connected to steroids or some other illegal supplement. These names included the likes of Barry Bonds, Roger Clemons, Rafael Palmero, Alex Rodriguez and Manny Ramirez all of whom dealt with the issue with as much grace as a gorilla in high heels. Then came David Ortiz. The big guy, the player you just can't hate even if you are a Yankees fan. Suddenly the accusations went to another level and really hit home. Only this time the answer we received from the accused wasn't just endless no comments. He vowed to get answers and dealt with the problem head on and instead of looking like just another player who would do anything to get ahead he kept his Papi persona. The fans love him, the players love him and the media loves to talk about him. And as a result look how this turned out. Instead of his name going down as just another dirty player he stood out and questions were raised not just about his baseball past but also about the tests themselves. He swore he took only supplements and it was found that many of the positive tests were found to be caused by supplements that at the time were not band by the MLB. Not only that but the test was revealed to have a different number of positive test in the Unions version and in the governments version. Now for one I'm sick of hearing about the steroid era which has captivated sports news for the last year. It's news that is getting old real fast. Second, if the tests themselves have discrepencies then how can they even be viewed and used as evidence of cheating? If the supplements were legal at the time they were used than there is no legal leg to stand on. Let it go....
Now as for the NFL and MLB drafts it makes me sick when i see a kid straight out of college being payed as much as these kids are. Matthew Stafford gets 72 million over six years from the lions (47.1 of which is automatically guaranteed) and he hasn't touched a pig skin in the pros yet? Michael Crabtree isn't getting paid but thats because he's complaining about how much he's getting paid to PLAY A GAME for a living. Are you kidding me? You don't deserve to get paid until you do something to prove to everyone that you actually deserve the money that you get. There's no way you could talk me into giving an unproven rookie 41.7 million dollars when he could end up being a bust (especially in Detroit). And as for Crabtree, when you grow up and realize that your privaledged to play a game to make a living then you can get your money. Oh as if the double digit million dollar contract San Francisco offered you wasnt good enough. What is wrong with you? Sign the stupid contract and play, thats why they drafted you and if you do the right things and produce I promise a larger contract will follow. Look at Peyton Manning.
Finally I have a problem with college football and I will always have a problem with college football until a playoff system is created. It's not fun watching the same teams in the National Championship every year. Florida, USC, Ohio State, Oklahoma... it gets old. Half the time theres a better team that gets screwed out of the Championship game. Like last year for instance. Texas and Texas Tech were both good enough to play in the National Championship along with Georgia, Alabama and Penn State. Not only that but what about the little guy? Schools such as Boise State never get the recognition they deserve. Undefeated is undefeated and therefore a playoff must be created to get the two teams that are truly the best. Without one the college football season just isnt the same.
These are the parts of the sports world that have me fuming. Remember if it burns everyone wants to talk about it
No comments:
Post a Comment